h1

Charity for Malian orphans

November 24, 2009

They're not trying to save the world, they're just trying to dig a well. I like tangible goals.

I’m a little weird when it comes to charities.  I enjoy giving money to worthy causes but I don’t like giving to large, faceless organizations, and for that reason I tend to shy away from organized charity drives like the Combined Federal Campaign.  Fortunately, this year I learned that a friend of mine who I work with runs a non-profit charity for Malian orphans.  (Mali is a landlocked country in the Northwest portion of Africa – yeah, I had to look it up too)  She started the charity because she was once a Malian orphan, but with the proper support and education she has earned a commission as an officer in the United States Navy.  I don’t want to say (and nor would she) that her story is any more heroic than other peoples who have overcome significant hardships to make a better life for themselves, but the fact that she devotes a significant amount of her free time to running a charity for which she cares very deeply while still carrying all the responsibilities of a naval officer is quite special.  If you’re looking for a charity to donate to but, like me, don’t feel comfortable giving money to charities that have large overheads because you don’t really know where your money is going, take a look at these links: 

http://www.globalgiving.com/projects/build-a-home-for-orphans-in-mali/

http://www.acfacorp.org/index.php/founders-message.html

If I didn’t know the person who runs this charity I would probably not pay it any more attention than any of the thousands of other charities that are out there but given that I know the founder and how capable she is at managing large projects, I feel that this is a charity I can trust to send my money where it is needed, which in this case is a run down section of a poor country that just happens to have had the good luck to produce a highly competent and caring naval officer, one who devotes the majority of her free time to helping a part of the world that most of us have to google in order to find out where it even is!

2 comments

  1. I’m for adding this to Toys for Tots!


  2. World AIDS Day
    Today, 01 Dec 09, is the World AIDS Day. Currently there are over 97,000 AIDS orphans in Mali. Please log on to http://www.globalgiving.org/projects/build-a-home-for-orphans-in-mali/, and help a Malian AIDS orphan get an education and become an economic assets of Mali.

    Thank you for your support.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

