h1

Binary Stress Test

August 12, 2010

As part of my company’s health care plan I have to talk with a ‘health care professional’ a few times a year. My favorite question is always the stress one: “On a scale of one to ten, how stressed are you? One being no stress, ten being stressed.” That’s not a scale! When you only have two options, yes or no, it’s called binary! A scale means there are increments between the two end parameters! It’s like saying, on a scale of one to ten, how pregnant is your wife? So, I told him I was ten, since I am stressed (as are all human beings). I don’t think he liked that answer because that led into a long discussion of things I can do to reduce my stress. Step one: Stop talking to Webmd health professionals.

2 comments

  1. Are you new to the phrase “on a scale of one to ten…”? If you were on an airplane the dude would have “hit the slide.” Boom.


  2. You are so clever with these things!

    Really

    Love, DAD



Leave a Reply

