h1

Halloween Costumes

October 28, 2010

Has anyone seen the commercial with the mom dressing the kid for Halloween as Iron Man?

I CAN COMPLETELY SYMPATHIZE WITH THE KID!!! When my brother and I were growing up, our Mom would never let us buy costumes from the store, we always had to make them. Now, Mom, before you get upset, let me finish. My brother and I loved making our own costumes – it was fun and creative. However, we were significantly handicapped by the fact that we didn’t have any materials aside from some cardboard boxes, scissors, and tape. This seriously limited our creative abilities as imagination can only take you so far – at some point you need the right tools. Case in point: One year (second grade to be specific – I remember this very well) I wanted to go as a robot. No problem! Mom busted out the cardboard, tape, and aluminum foil and before you knew it I had a cool shiny robot costume. The only problem? The box was too big. I know this because when I tried to walk into the classroom the day of the big Halloween party I got stuck halfway through the door. Seriously. Stuck in the door. The teacher actually had to cut me out of my costume. Thank god the fire alarm didn’t go off. I can see the headline now: “Entire Second Grade Class Burned Alive: Authorities Blame Cardboard Robot.” So, I can sympathize with the Iron Man kid.

Actually, now that I think about it, the costume thing was a lot like when Mom wouldn’t let us buy the pumpkin carving kits from the Giant because they would ‘hinder our creativity.’ Instead, we had to design and carve our own pumpkins, which was great except the only tools we had were a soup spoon and a giant, 10” long carving knife. It was quite possibly the single most dangerous tool you could have given to a little kid to carve a pumpkin. All you could do was shove it into the pumpkin and move it in a straight line – it was just too big to manipulate. As a result, we were pretty much limited to triangles, squares, or any other polygon. If we had attempted to carve a curve we would likely have lost all our fingers.   

I hereby promise that my kids, while always required to build their own costumes and design their own pumpkins, will at least be given the proper tools to do so.  It’s like I always say, “There’s no activity that can’t be made better by the addition of power tools.”

2 comments

  1. Your wife, who almost always had a costume bought for her (if not, it was because it was real clothes somehow costume-fied), will remember this when it’s 5:27 on Halloween night and little BOB is crying to Daddy that “I can’t put my arms down!”

    I also always had the kits, among the first in the neighborhood to have them, and always had the BEST decorations and pumpkins. So there.


  2. Haha, the year of the robot was the same where I went as an alien. Mom found a red outfit for me and stuck a football helmet on my head covered in (naturally) tin foil. I looked more like some kind of special ed elf than an alien, but close enough I guess.



Leave a Reply

